Cloud regions

The Catalyst Cloud is hosted on multiple regions or geographical locations. Regions are data centres that are completely independent and isolated from each other, providing fault tolerance and geographic diversity.

All our data centres have backup disel generators, UPS, N+1 process coolers and diverse fibre paths for network connectivity.

Code Name PCI DSS certified?
nz-por-1 NZ Porirua 1 Yes
nz_wlg_2 NZ Wellington 2 In progress

We encourage customers to use Porirua as their primary region in New Zealand. This region is Catalyst’s newest addition to the Catalyst Cloud. It is PCI certified and has six times the capacity of the Wellington region.

The connectivity between compute instances hosted on different regions takes place over the Internet when allowed by your security groups and network configuration.

Resources are not replicated automatically across regions unless you do so. This provides customers the flexibility to introduce replication where required and to fail-over resources independently when needed.

Changing regions

Via the dashboard

The web dashboard has a region selector dropbox on the top bar. It indicates the current region you are connected to and allows you to easily switch between regions.

Via the command line tools

The command line tools pick up the region from the $OS_REGION_NAME environment variable. To define the variable:

export OS_REGION_NAME="region-code"

Alternatively you can use the --os-region-name option to specify the region on each call.

Via the APIs

The API request you use to authenticate with the Catalyst Cloud allows you to scope a token on a given region. The token can then be used to interact with the API endpoints of the other services hosted in the same region.