The Catalyst Cloud provides three regions in New Zealand. Regions are data centres that are completely independent and isolated (each with their own control plane), providing fault tolerance and geographic diversity.

Please visit our website for more information about our national infrastructure:

Region Code Name PCI DSS certified? ISO 27001 certified?
nz-por-1 NZ Porirua 1 Yes In progress
nz_wlg_2 NZ Wellington 2 Compliant In progress
nz-hlz-1 NZ Hamilton 1 Yes Yes


We encourage customers to use Porirua as their primary region, as it has the greatest capacity of all our regions.

Selecting a region

Via the dashboard

The web dashboard has a region selector dropbox on the top left corner. It indicates the current region you are connected to and allows you to easily switch to another region.


Via the CLI

The command line interface picks up the region configuration from the $OS_REGION_NAME environment variable. To define the variable:

export OS_REGION_NAME="region-code"

Alternatively you can use the --os-region-name option to specify the region on each call.

Via the APIs

The API request you use to authenticate with the Catalyst Cloud allows you to scope a token on a given region. The token can then be used to interact with the API endpoints of the other services hosted in the same region.

Data traffic between regions

The connectivity between compute instances hosted on different regions takes place over either our wide area network (WAN) or the Internet, when allowed by your security groups and network configuration.

Contrary to data traffic within a given region, there are data transfer costs applicable to data traffic between regions.

Data replication

With the exception of multi-region object storage service, resources are not replicated automatically across regions unless you do so. This provides users the flexibility to introduce replication where required and to fail-over resources independently when needed.